Economically Weaker Section (EWS) Certificate

EWS certificate

EWS stands for Economically Weaker Section and refers to the category of people belonging to the low-income group in India. 

The Government of India has defined the EWS category as those households whose annual income is less than Rs 8 lakh and which do not fall under any other narrow category such as SC, ST or OBC.


Exemption of Five Years Above Maximum Age Limit for EWS in AP Govt Jobs Direct Recruitments – Read Now

Eligibility under the Economically Weaker Section (EWS) Category

EWS eligibility refers to the set of criteria that individuals must meet to be classified under the Economically Weaker Section category in India. 

The eligibility criteria for EWS category includes household income, which should be less than Rs 8 lakhs per annum, and the absence of any reservation benefits under the SC, ST or OBC category.

Additionally, the individual or their family should not own more than five acres of agricultural land, a residential flat of 1000 sq. ft or more, or a residential plot of 100 sq. yards or more in notified municipalities.

To avail of benefits under the EWS category, individuals must obtain an EWS certificate issued by the competent authority as proof of their eligibility.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top